Tips for Listening from Designing Sound

One final point to make is that once you learn to listen, it can be hard to turn it off. This is a disadvantage to becoming a listener. I hear the incessant beeping of the backing up of trucks at a construction site about a kilometre away. I can’t stop listening to it.  I hear the neighbour’s dog, the chatter outside my window on the sidewalk, and all the other sounds around me, all day long. I focus on the bad sound in the film, instead of enjoying a movie. The more I learn to listen, the more I love quiet, and so it’s important to remember that once you’ve “switched on” this part of your brain, you need to give it regular breaks, because as far as I can tell it doesn’t switch back off!  

 

For tips and further recommendations: http://designingsound.org/2014/09/top-5-tips-for-learning-to-listen/

About mehtapc

caglarmehtap@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

